Tour new Tokyo art and design district – The Japan Times

ART DISTRICTS JAPAN

An article recently published in The Japan Times takes a quirky look at a new Tokyo art district that has sprung up in Nihonbashi. Kit Nagamura brings you a colloquially written chronicle of ancient executions, deli dishes and, of course, contemporary art.

Tobin Ohashi Gallery, Tokyo, Japan.

Tobin Ohashi Gallery, Tokyo, Japan.

Click here to read the original article, titled “Shooting galleries in Nihonbashi”, on The Japan Times’ website.

After a spot of lunch and a macaroni fortune reading at Alimentare e Bar Renea, Nagamura bumps into gallerist Hitoshi Ohashi’s Tokyo Art Collectors Group and is asked if she would like to tag along with them as they tour the city district. “Walking with Hitoshi, I soon learn that the area’s galleries are rarely in locations as accessible and obvious as the Tobin Ohashi [Gallery],” she writes, and then proceeds to list a few of the established and emerging spaces the group visits, including Unseal Contemporary, Gallery Hashimoto, Gallery αMCASHI Contemporary Gallery Shima and Radi-um von Roentgenwerke AG.

Gallery Hashimoto, Tokyo, Japan.

Gallery Hashimoto, Tokyo, Japan.

Residents of Tokyo, do you know of any other galleries in this or other areas of the city that are worth a mention? If you do, leave the gallery name and a link to their website in the comments section below.

KN/HH

Related Topics: art districts, Tokyo art happenings

Related Posts:

Subscribe to Art Radar for more on contemporary art districts in Asia


Comments

Tour new Tokyo art and design district – The Japan Times — 5 Comments

  1. I am looking for art district in Tokyo or in any other city in Japan. for my first time in Japan. interesting in artist communities. not necessary have art galleries around. example: Montmartre in Paris, Soho in NY US, or Downtown LA. Counterculture part of town. Any suggestion are appreciated. A-Li-Ga-Dor :)

  2. Hi Kit. Sincerest apologies for the mistaken gender. We have made the change from ‘he’ to ‘she’. Apologies again. We linked to this article because we loved the style in which it was written, and loved the overview of the area that it presents to the reader, and we realise that it by no means represents a succinct list of galleries in the district. Hope to see more writing from you in the future – we will keep an eye out for it!

  3. Hi there. Thank you for linking in my article, and for supporting the arts with this site! There are currently about 30 galleries in the specific area you asked about–some barely large enough to turn around in–but since the column I write isn’t meant to focus purely on one specific theme, I couldn’t mention all of them. Ashley Rawlings, well-informed, was exercising restraint in listing contemporary galleries in greater Tokyo; there are hundreds. By the way, just wanted to let you know I am not a “he” but a “she,” with a Ph.D. in literature, so I would likely produce phenomenally academic drivel without the influence of my sharp Japan Times editors. Thanks again!

  4. Wow! Thank you for such a detailed list. Certainly great to see so many contemporary galleries, not just in the area we mention, but all over Tokyo. Again, thank you!

  5. There are four more galleries worth mentioning for this area:

    • Zenshi (http://zenshi.com/)
    • Yuka Sasahara Gallery (http://www.yukasasaharagallery.com/)

    And in the same building a short walk from Radi-um:

    • Taro Nasu (http://www.taronasugallery.com/index_e.html)
    • Foil Gallery (http://www.foiltokyo.com/)

    As for other gallery areas and gallery buildings in Tokyo, there are several—most of which are home to more high-profile and interesting galleries.

    The Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Gallery Building:
    • Taka Ishii Gallery (http://www.takaishiigallery.com/)
    • Tomio Koyama Gallery (http://www.tomiokoyamagallery.com/en/)
    • Hiromi Yoshii (http://www.hiromiyoshii.com/)
    • Shugoarts (http://www.shugoarts.com/en/index.html)
    • Miyake Fine Art (http://www.miyakefineart.com/)
    Nearby: Mujin-to Production (http://www.mujin-to.com/)

    The Shirokane Gallery building and around
    • Yamamoto Gendai (http://www.yamamotogendai.org/)
    • Nanzuka Underground (http://nug.jp/)
    • Kodama Gallery (http://www.kodamagallery.com/start/index.html)
    Nearby: Misa Shin Gallery (http://www.misashin.com/)

    The Roppongi “Pyramide” Gallery Building
    • Wako Works of Art (http://www.wako-art.jp/)
    • Taka Ishii Gallery Photography / Film (http://www.takaishiigallery.com/)
    • Ota Fine Arts (http://www.otafinearts.com/)
    • Zen Foto Gallery (http://www.zen-foto.jp/)

    Higashi-Azabu Area
    • Take Ninagawa (http://takeninagawa.com/)
    • Gallery Side 2 (http://galleryside2.net/)

    Ginza
    • Gallery Koyanagi (http://www.gallerykoyanagi.com/)
    • Tokyo Gallery + BTAP (http://www.tokyo-gallery.com/)
    • Megumi Ogita Gallery (http://www.megumiogita.com/)
    Nearby: Arataniurano (http://www.arataniurano.com/)

    There are many others great galleries that are scattered all over the city:
    Misako & Rosen, Mizuma Art Gallery, Takahashi Collection (a showroom), Aoyama Meguro and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.